English Ideas for CS2D - READ THE FIRST POST (OP)!

3,146 replies
Goto Page
To the start Previous 1 2 ... 156 157 158 Next To the start
23.04.20 08:12:32 pm
Up
SQ
Moderator
Offline Off
@user Mami Tomoe: There is already <avatar:id>
26.04.20 01:29:20 pm
Up
Xentaur_
User
Offline Off
Ability to use mods (skins) in other servers.
27.04.20 09:36:05 am
Up
Gaios
Security Supporter
Offline Off
@user Xentaur_: You can use mods on other servers for yourself.
27.04.20 05:00:23 pm
Up
Xentaur_
User
Offline Off
@user Gaios: Thing is, it doesn't work. I can't use mods on other servers, my skins don't appear. Mods don't work on other servers.
edited 1×, last 28.04.20 01:28:49 am
28.04.20 08:25:45 pm
Up
Mami Tomoe
User
Offline Off
Ability to give buildings in the editor more configuration, such as:

Portals to be connected to another portal (similar to trigger and names in the editor)

Supplies to have an option to choose an ID that'll spawn the appropriate item ID based on server config or force a specific item to spawn.

ETC.



EDIT:
I feel like the current CS2D Lua is quite outdated and messy, maybe you guys should add a toggle switch in the server options called
sv_use_legacy_lua
.

It would be on by default but when it's disabled things would change to be in a more dated format.

Such as:
Legacy hook:
endround

Non legacy hook:
pre_endround

And it will add a new hook called
endround
that will be called exactly when the round actually ends (and not when the round is attempting to end (such as in a round draw).

This would allow a whole lot of Lua modifications without breaking support for previous scripts.

Another example would be to finally organize the way some commands and functions work in terms of parameters and basically make everything a whole lot easier to remember and code.


EDIT:
Lua command:
getserverinfo(IP, PORT, INFO_TYPE)

For example:
getserverinfo('1.2.3.4', '12345', 'sv_name')

Will return the server's name (this of course wont work for stuff like
'sv_password'
).
There could be a limit of like 100 requests from a server every minute of course (internally).
This would also be controlled by the remote flood protection.

And a security option for the server:
mp_serverinfowhitelist

Example:
Code:
1
parse('mp_serverinfowhitelist 1.2.3.4,4.3.2.1,6.9.6.9')

Only those servers can get information from that server.
By default that list only includes
127.0.0.1
.
edited 2×, last 15.05.20 10:32:13 am
15.05.20 12:44:46 pm
Up
The kennyS
User
Offline Off
@user Mami Tomoe: The last thing that you requested is not possible I think, If It would be possible, We could prevent all ddos attacks
15.05.20 01:29:51 pm
Up
Mami Tomoe
User
Offline Off
@user The kennyS: It will DROP whats not supposed to connect, duh.

EDIT:

Allowing higher quality sprays? Is it time yet?
64x64 sprays that'll work in 64x64 tile sized maps.
Allowing PNG format (as it is a lot easier to compress than BMP)
Allowing white color (default), or any RGB coded color.
edited 1×, last 20.05.20 04:14:32 pm
22.05.20 07:48:21 pm
Up
M3_Quick
User
Offline Off
leave laziness and finally update the horrible menus of cs2d, these menus simply never change and we still use the prototypes from the first time cs2d 1.0 . add more animations, add more spaces in chat.

Look for more moderators who punish criminals, since here nobody respects anyone, don't be afraid of changes, change the administrator for a more efficient and less lazy one.


It really bothers me to see that users are not registering their files or are afraid to ask something thanks to headless people like this or the one who wrote the previous comment here.
(There's nothing stupid about asking about something you don't know.)

Dc with all respect, you could allow your team to work on this, I know you would get the attention of more players, you can make several prototypes and publish them in a survey, to select the most appropriate for cs2d.

drop all other projectsfor 1 month or 2 and focus on the us.de gem.


Big Udate fpr cs2d 2021 plis
edited 5×, last 22.05.20 08:07:27 pm
22.05.20 08:10:37 pm
Up
The kennyS
User
Offline Off
user M3_Quick So those CS2D developers have to repeat it again and again and again? SQ is working on the mobile version, DC is working on Stranded III. None of them have time to update it. Even expect if they weren't busy, What they could do? There would be nothing to revive CS2D again more than developing CS2D 2 which will never happen.

Also, btw so why are you begging DC to promote you to a moderator, that will never happen though.
25.05.20 10:59:15 am
Up
Gaios
Security Supporter
Offline Off
I once read that new CS2D has hardcoded English language now.. well.. it's ok but we still can't have custom weapons at the servers and this stuff might help server owners to deploy better mods.

Why did I mention hardcoded English language? Listen.. I know we have got new stuff to manipulate weapons' firerate in sys/weapons.cfg and sys/weapons_recoil.cfg but we still can't change weapon name . Well.. if we could change weapon name, we actually could mod servers with new custom weapons.

From the other hand we may have another config file which will contain only new weapons that we might create by custom gfx and sfx files. Note: those files should be always required in servertransfer.

And one more stuff.. pls add firerate stuff for melee weapons yet I would have a melee weapon which can't attact, so I can use it to create GUI *click*.
26.05.20 02:05:41 pm
Up
SQ
Moderator
Offline Off
@user The kennyS: I'll update on new version of CS2D quite soon. I'm slightly busy with my work stuff currently. Next month should be less stressful, so be prepared for multiple blogs/vlogs on the development.
I don't want to add more features into CS2D as it is really huge task to squeeze it from the old game engine.
26.05.20 08:01:37 pm
Up
TobyInChina
User
Offline Off
user SQ has written:
@user The kennyS: I'll update on new version of CS2D quite soon. I'm slightly busy with my work stuff currently. Next month should be less stressful, so be prepared for multiple blogs/vlogs on the development.
I don't want to add more features into CS2D as it is really huge task to squeeze it from the old game engine.


@SQ can you UTF-8 menu and say hook please?
CS2D Chinese Station(CS2DCN) Founder。Chinese language translation submitter!As you see,We are the second largest player group of CS2D! | Our Discord
27.05.20 12:25:34 am
Up
SQ
Moderator
Offline Off
@user SQ: Perhaps I can make a new hook that pass a string in UTF-8 format.

It would return string like in this file:
http://unrealsoftware.de/files_show.php?file=17595

The implementation could look like:
Code:
1
2
3
4
5
6
addhook("sayUTF8", "sayUTF8")
sayUTF8(id, text) -- text equals "x43x53x32x44" and refers to "CS2D"

if (utf8.convert("CS2D")==text) then
 -- DO
end


Btw, does "UTF-8:" feature still work?
edited 1×, last 27.05.20 12:43:05 am
27.05.20 01:00:20 am
Up
TobyInChina
User
Offline Off
user SQ has written:
@user SQ: Perhaps I can make a new hook that pass a string in UTF-8 format.

It would return string like in this file:
http://unrealsoftware.de/files_show.php?file=17595

The implementation could look like:
Code:
1
2
3
4
5
6
addhook("sayUTF8", "sayUTF8")
sayUTF8(id, text) -- text equals "x43x53x32x44" and refers to "CS2D"

if (utf8.convert("CS2D")==text) then
 -- DO
end


Btw, does "UTF-8:" feature still work?


yes please ,thank you。
Its work!
CS2D Chinese Station(CS2DCN) Founder。Chinese language translation submitter!As you see,We are the second largest player group of CS2D! | Our Discord
27.05.20 03:18:12 am
Up
VADemon
User
Offline Off
No. Lua doesn't need anything except for the utf8 helper functions from 5.2 and 5.3 (updated) for string processing (regex, and multibyte character sub).
Lua does not modify strings in any way, they may hold binary data too. As long as strings are passed to Lua correctly (external APIs + "correct" encoding in the text editor (correct with regards to the application) everything will work perfectly fine.
I think the only problem is that CS2D is not consistent with encodings internally.
27.05.20 06:00:48 am
Up
Mami Tomoe
User
Offline Off
Yeah, CS2D menus don't support UTF-8.
27.05.20 06:52:44 am
Up
MikuAuahDark
User
Offline Off
Instead of having separate hooks that support UTF-8, why not make everything support UTF-8 instead. Sadly this means lots of server info and scripts to break as they were written with Windows-1252 charset in mind. However quick testing shows me that converting Windows-1252 (A0...FF) to UTF-8 should be straightforward.

A better option would be having server setting (in a separate file, loaded before anything else) that tells whetever it should use UTF-8 or fallback to Windows-1252.
file cs2d LuaJIT for Dedicated Server (11) JIT POWER! | Know your Lua errors! | Draw stuff at Pixelize Art --xx-- server!
27.05.20 01:50:55 pm
Up
SQ
Moderator
Offline Off
@user MikuAuahDark: as far as I know, last supported Lua implementation for BlitzMax does not support UTF-8. Once you try to pass 16bit character from Lua interface to BlitzMax API, it only passes one byte instead. That's at least what I do remember from testing. The only available version for BlitzMax is 5.14.
28.05.20 02:49:56 am
Up
VADemon
User
Offline Off
https://blitzmax.org/docs/en/language/strings/
Quote:
Strings are used to store sequences of characters.

FromBytes:String( bytes:Byte Ptr,length )     Creates a string from a sequence of length 8 bit bytes.

This is the only function that should be used when receiving Strings from the Lua-side. Assuming (and it looks so by this description) that BlitzMax doesn't touch the encoding of the string, this should fix the problem.
...
https://github.com/blitz-research/blitzmax/blob/master/mod/pub.mod/lua.mod/lua.bmx
All the relevant function appear to be using String.fromBytes() for creating Strings on the BlitzMax-side (and there are multiple comments about "not converted" and "no 0x00". I'd just check if the library version you have does have all the same String constructors and after that suspect the issue in CS2D API/wrappers/network that uses other String object constructors (Everything that's not fromBytes).
12.06.20 02:50:09 am
Up
Mami Tomoe
User
Offline Off
A grid mode for the server list menu (optional can be changed in settings).

Viewing the server list on big screens is a bit tedious nowadays when most of the server item line is blank and unused due to my wide screen.
To the start Previous 1 2 ... 156 157 158 Next To the start